Skip navigation

Daily Archives: May 26th, 2016

The Amber Hour

Calm or harried, depending on the day…an artist tries to make it to showtime without alienating family and friends

 

Wow!  I have been in a work-trance for over a month.  Friends have called trying to get together…”What you are‘still’ in the studio?”

Today is ‘D’ day=for delivery day! Pack, Crate and Courrier day!  Yeah!  I made it and I still have a husband and friends…regardless of the panic that set in from time to time, they still think I am ‘okay’!  Nice!

I seem to live large, aim higher and cannot change.  What differentiates  a successful work and a mediocre work?  Detail!

I am all about attention to detail…from beginning to end.  I really can’t let go of an idea I have…and I do think outside the box when problems arise…and arise they do!  Like a surprise power outage while the kiln is firing…that really sets your heart racing!   Or the supplier coming through, but, 3 weeks late!  Oh, and we can’t forget that ‘new small detail’ I added, that made assembly, a marathon run!!!  Frustration!!!

Anyhow…problems happen, you go with the flow!  I love my glass and would buy each one myself!  If you don’t see it…it was not up to my standard, quite simply!

My glass is bright and happy, it’s freedom and definitely not traditional!  I do what I love!  I have a vision and I live it. This work will endure…I know because I put it together!

I am a total nerd when it comes to ‘timely and done right’…Ah ha, I FORGOT TO SIGN MY NAME. See that checklist does come in handy!  AVC is what identifies my work,  my signature…besides my personal style…the initials are all mine!!!!

Life is a balancing act before show time, but, today I breathe and wish my ‘Happy Glass’ a place in your home.

@ANGELA VERLAECKT CLARK