Skip navigation

Issues always crop up while art-working and it is never, point and click straight-forward, believe me!

COVID-19 threw artists a curve ball this past year and being creative we quickly turned to videos, Zoom, virtual shows and online classes.  Yes, I have done it all and I have learned a lot! Not perfectly, but everyone has had issues with technology this year.

Despite it all, I am almost ready for my April virtual show. I say ‘almost’ because even though the show was paused, my art kept moving forward. New art means new challenges, right?

Buying art supplies has been a bit of an issue.  

I am certain I am looking for a…oops not available, or in one case the company I have dealt with for years, has closed its doors, sadly!  I put on my thinking cap; a bit of a panic ensues! If you follow me, you know I do panic! Searching through company websites, anyway you get my drift, how we buy has been radically altered now.

Mounting art in a frame or on a base is really a mental gymnastics game, invented simply to tease my artist’s brain. The end game must appease my vision of the finished artwork, because I have seen it in my mind’s eye, and now I must make it look the same with different findings. That can be a bumpy road!

My original plan has just been turned on its head and with the new plan comes more adjustments! Not smooth sailing.

Creative minds never turn off. There is a time crunch, I am back at the drawing board, not happy! Perfect ideas flit into my dreams and they always, always, work…in the light of day, not so much!

That is where the perfect discovery serendipitously comes in. I walk into the 10th hardware store and there is that special something and it will work beautifully! I am feeling the high of excitement! My innumerable hours searching, has paid off!

Now, it’s just back to the studio and get it done! Life is good!  

Leave a comment